“You jump, I jump, right?”

It’s been over a year since I posted here. Yikes. I hope none of you were holding your breath for me to put something up…… if so, PLEASE take a breath! And don’t hold it again, I’m making no guarantees about when my next post will be. I’m hoping it will be soon.

Tomorrow is the Fourth of July, and I am thankful. Family is in town, friends are home from college (some with new husbands in tow), the weather is hot and the fireworks are cool. I will get my first good sunburn of the year, I will eat my aunt’s delicious orange salad, I will see some of my most favorite people in the whole world all in one day, and I will get to see the amazing Melba Fourth of July fireworks that I know are the most incredible in the valley. In honor of how thankful I am, here are a few things I am thankful for that sortof relate to the Fourth….. and some that sortof really don’t.

Fake Tan That Doesn’t Turn You Orange

Yes, that’s right. Some of us aren’t blessed with skin that tans very well. In fact, some people have to get a wicked sunburn before we can tan. Being one of those people and also being someone who doesn’t want skin cancer, I am in love with this spray-on tan. I’m just being real, people: I’m white.

Bubble Baths

If you haven’t taken a bubble bath recently, I recommend doing so immediately. Go, right now. Get a fancy glass and pour in some Dr. Pepper. Turn Eva Cassidy Radio on Pandora on your phone. Grab an uplifting book. Fill up the tub with hot water and a million bubbles. Relax. Read. Drink Dr. Pepper. Enjoy.

AMC’s “Titanic” Marathon of Sorts

First of all, this is one of my all-time favorite movies. A young Leo, tragic & true love that never dies, the Unsinkable Molly Brown, elegant dresses and hats and jewelry and dinners…. it doesn’t get much better than that. Second, it has played for TWO nights in a row on AMC for a sweet little “Can’t Get Enough Titanic” marathon…. and I agree. I can’t get enough Titanic. I could watch this movie over and over again. I love it every time Jack tells Rose he’s going to jump into the ocean after her. The OCEAN. The FREEZING ocean. The freezing ocean IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT. It’s like reading Romeo & Juliet: it just gets better every time. I mean, come on! Try not to love this:

Third, Rose is a brave girl. She says goodbye to her mother & her fiance, faces what seems like certain death to avoid parting ways with Jack, and at 101 years old is still kickin’. She rocks. Something else awesome about this movie: the abusive, womanizing, rude, icky jerk of an antagonist LOSES.

Or is the iceberg the antagonist? I always hope a little bit that the ship will miss the iceberg so Rose and Jack can live happily ever after…

Freedom of Religion

I’m just saying, America is awesome. Sure, I am not really a fan of people who wear American flag t-shirts and talk about America as if we’re the only country on Earth and who act like they’d like to punch anyone who isn’t American. But what I DO love about America is that we get to pretty much worship whomever and whatever we want. I feel so lucky that we live in a country where we can choose our religion freely. Missionaries from any denomination can spread their message however they want, from LDS guys knocking on doors to those dudes in the Warped Tour parking lot who give you books and ask you to donate money. I heart missionaries.

I hope you all have a wonderful Fourth… I’m planning on doing so! See you all in the traffic jam heading out of Melba.

love, JL

One comment

  1. Pingback: Cupid’s Chokehold « Jurra

Leave a Reply

