Funk-ified (part 1)

Yes, I’m writing another two-part post. But it’s because it’s so late and I don’t have time to start what is going to be in part 2…

Before I drown my cold in Nyquil, I wanted to tell you a little story. I have so many stories… I’m sure you are tired of hearing about them.

BUT! For you few who keep saying, “Keep posting!” here is another story for you.

I’ve been in a little bit of a funk lately. This is the first I’ve been acknowledging it, because prior to tonight I’ve been fighting it with everything I have. I’ve been going full steam ahead and not really paying attention to the fact that maybe my soul was a little tired. Maybe I just needed a rest. Or a sleep. Or a chill pill. Or some patience. Or maybe just a few more mugs of peppermint tea.

I sound so dramatic sometimes! But isn’t that what a blog is for? To just spit out all the dramatic “truth” your heart is weeping so that your brain can tell you how logical (or illogical) it is?

But I digress. Where was I?

“I digress.”

Ah. My tired soul. You see, I’ve been working hard to learn, and to grow, and to become, and to work every single day to create and take baby steps toward the life I want to live.

But then I forgot to rest. I sortof rested between semesters… but as soon as I got back I just started running without even realizing it. I didn’t even realize I wasn’t resting and nourishing my soul until I went on a long, peaceful walk around Rexburg with a dear friend of mine.

We talked for a few minutes about what had been bothering me, but then we just walked around for a long time and talked about anything but that. We talked about what we believe and where we want to go and what we want to do and who we want to be. The more we talked, the more I realized that I had forgotten so many things about myself!

Where was I going?

How does that happen? How do we just forget the things that make us happiest, and that make our hearts go pitter-patter, and the things we need, and the kinds of people and thoughts and actions we want to surround ourselves with?

I don’t have the answer to that. I don’t know why we forget. It probably has something to do with how fast we try to go go GO, and that we try to use our own strength instead of relying on the source of our strength…

But what I do know is that it feels so great when you remember those things you forgot.

I remembered a lot of things…

I remembered that life is good! I have such a fire and passion for life and I don’t ever want to forget that. I remembered that I have dreams and dreams and dreams about what I want my life to be like, and that I’m working every day to get there. I remembered that I have hope that is bursting at the seams, and that I don’t ever want to lose that.

I remembered I love to create things… which will bring me to my next post. I don’t remember the last time I made something for MYSELF, not for a class or work or whatever… but because I LOVE TO HAVE PAINT ON MY HANDS AND DANCE AROUND WHILE I CREATE SOMETHING (and usually get it in my hair, too).

Life is good. Life is SO good. Remember back on Valentine’s Day, when I talked about gratitude? It’s okay if you don’t quite remember. You can read it here if you want…. and I hope you will. Anyway, I feel SUCH gratitude for my life today and the ESPECIALLY blessings in the lives of others.

Which brings me to my next point:

one of the coolest people I know. Nena will probably be embarrassed that I’m writing this about her… but I’m okay with that.

Here’s a picture from what we fondly recall to be “the good old days.” Me, Devin, Sarah, Nena, Cody, Norma, Andrea (where was Amber?)…. I haven’t seen most of those people in forever. Anyway.

The POINT of this picture is that Nena has always been such a good, loyal friend to me. No matter what. Even when I was a crazy little high schooler (and cheerleader). No matter where I was in my life, when Nena became my friend she became my soul sister.

I think I was a sophomore in high school here… this is when they graduated and we walked around Boise barefoot like the hooligans we were and jumped in fountains and yelled and sang and cried a little when it was over.

She taught me to literally breathe fire. Yeah. She’s pretty rad.

Powderpuff football, naturally.

Let’s fast forward. My 19th birthday!

Dallin, Jerrold (Me), Neenjie, Katie, and Tate.
Mission, BYUI, Grad School, married, Indiana.
Wow, I miss all these people!

Nena made me some delicious apple pies for me on my  birthday, a week after my baptism… I was going to post a picture from my baptism, but I don’t have ANY! Bummer. (If anyone has some, can you send them to me?) Anyway, I remember when I called Nena on her birthday…. even though I thought her birthday was the next day… to tell her I was getting baptized. She said that was the best birthday ever! I’ll take her word for it. Nena has always been such a great example to me on how to live.

She always, always, always makes the right choice. Always. It’s never a question for her. If someone needs help, Nena is there. I know that I can always call Nena and with all the loving kindness she has in her heart she will tell it to me like it is. I can call her to know nothing bad is happening, that life is going just as life goes — according to someone else’s plan. Nena has taught me so many things. Nena has taught me to not care (or to care less) about what other people think. Nena has taught me to BELIEVE even when things aren’t going like you hoped or planned or wished. Her faith is unshakable.

Nena taught me her wheys.

And among other things, Nena also taught me how to get past big, sweaty, angry metal heads in a mosh pit. I still don’t go in to the circle pits….. that’s just insanity….. but Nena taught me her wheys of navigating mosh pits at Warped Tour and beyond…. and even though she ALWAYS mentions the year when A.F.I. and NOFX were there at the same time (which was the year I couldn’t go)… I can’t WAIT for our Warped Tour miracle in just ONE WEEK!!!!!!!!!

This was taken last June, on my first trip to Rexburg. I visited the apartment that I now live in (but I didn’t know I would then)! I met all my Starfishes! That trip started an entirely new chapter in my life… and I’m thankful Nena was there to help a sister out.

My first trip to Rexburg last June… I don’t know what I’d do without her.

I feel like this was the summer that I basically lived at her house for like 6 weeks….. and we didn’t even get tired of each other! Wakeboarding is the beeeeest.

Nasty McNast-Nast — Lake Lowell!

And then we ACTUALLY lived together in Rexburg… I’m so thankful for Nena. I’m thankful she’s stuck by my side always, no matter what. I value loyalty above almost anything else…. and this girl is LOYAL! Also, she’s a genius that’s accepted in to graduate school to get her PhD at BYU!!!

She’s so smaaaaart.

Why am I posting all this? Because, friends, if anyone deserves to have the MOUNTAIN of blessings and blessings and blessings and MORE BLESSINGS poured out upon their heads, it is Nena Lundgreen. She works harder than anyone else I know to do what’s right and what she feels God wants for her; she won’t ever settle for less than what she deserves; and she is one of the most hilarious people I’ve ever known. Sometimes you just have to SHOUT to the rooftops how happy you are for your friends when they are getting the great and wonderful things they deserve…. and this is one of those times!!!!

Part 2 will come later today…. probably on Saturday…. and I’ll show you what my soul has been yearning for me to do.

XOXOXOXOXO
JL

Leave a Reply

